Publication scheme

As well as responding to requests for information, we must publish information proactively. The Freedom of Information Act requires every public body to have a publication scheme, approved by the Information Commissioner’s Office (ICO), and to publish information covered by the scheme.

The scheme sets out our commitment to make certain classes of information routinely available, such as policies and procedures, minutes of meetings, annual reports and financial information.

The seven classes of information are broad and cover all the formal types of information we hold:

  1. Who we are and what we do
  2. What we spend and how we spend it
  3. What are our priorities and how we are doing
  4. How we make decisions
  5. Our policies and procedures
  6. Lists and registers
  7. Services we offer

The scheme is designed to increase transparency. Members of the public should be able to routinely access information that is in the public interest and is safe to disclose. Also, without the publication scheme, members of the public may not know what information we have available.

If you’d like to see information that is not included in the publication scheme, you can make a freedom of information request.